Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

viewing photos

Collapse

728 Ad Widget

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • viewing photos

    Some posts have a block that indicates a picture is posted but inside the box it states "update your account to enable third party hosting." or something like that. What account is it referring to? How is this done?
    NRA Patron member. John 3:16, the only good news that really matters.

  • #2
    It's a change made by the hosting service Photobucket.
    Members are encouraged to stop using Photobucket and seek image hosting elsewhere. I cleaned out my Photobucket account last week and told them to fuck off.
    Photobucket accused of blackmail after quietly requiring users to pay $400 a year to hotlink

    41 What is this, 2002?

    Thousands of listings from online marketplaces like Amazon and eBay are now filled with unsightly error images by Photobucket after the photo hosting site quietly introduced a $399 annual fee to users who want to embed images on third party websites. Users are now accusing Photobucket of extortion, as the service failed to make the update to its terms of service abundantly clear. USERS ARE ACCUSING PHOTOBUCKET OF EXTORTION
    It all began last week when Photobucket announced in a short blog post that it had updated its terms of service that had begun taking effect from June 20th. Nowhere in the blog post did Photobucket highlight the most important change, which was that it will now cost uploaders $400 a year to insert their photos on another website using direct image links.

    Photobucket, which launched in 2003, was previously free for all users to upload and embed images all over the web. It was a popular image hosting service of choice for early 2000s bloggers (think Xanga and LiveJournal) until the likes of Facebook and Instagram came along. Since then, it remained widely used by small businesses selling items through online marketplaces, offering 2GB of storage for free or $100 a year for 102GB of storage (the most popular paid plan, according to the service). The update to Photobucketís ToS, however, means users are forced to upgrade to the most premium tier if they wish to hotlink.

    You can imagine, then, the outrage that ensued. It appears some users canít even download their own photos out of their Photobucket accounts without upgrading.


    Comment


    • #3
      Then some knowledgeable person needs to post a sticky on how to post images on this site without going though Photobucket. I am getting real tired of spending my time trying to keep up with new software, new upgrades, new rules, software incompatibility, lying technology salespeople etc.
      NRA Patron member. John 3:16, the only good news that really matters.

      Comment

      Working...
      X