Redding competition shell holder issues

plinkin

Private
Belligerents
Aug 28, 2014
florida
I've been reloading for a couple years or more all 308 for several different rifles. When it comes to FL sizing I just adjusted the dies in the press and it's gotten me along ok so far. With the purchase of a new custom rifle I'm really paying close attention to reloading and striving to be as precise as I can to get my group size down.

I purchased a set of the Redding competition shell holders to alleviate the hassle of adjusting the die while also being able to control it as well. I bought them through amazon and measured them and it looks like .002 and .004 are the same size, I confirmed this with bumping a fired case back 1.5 thou with the .004 then relubed the same case and sized using the .002 holder and got the same results.

I ordered a replacement set through Amazon and they had the exact same issue along with having incorrect sized specs from the .010 and the .008 holders. Anyone have similar issues? I want to run these but I don't like the issues for the price from a reputable company.

Mainer

Private
Minuteman
Nov 29, 2019
Wouldn't the .002 shell holder set the case shoulder back less than the .004?

In other words, would you not be better off using the .002 before the .004? ( Forgive me if I misunderstand their function.)

Reactions: Mike Casselton

plinkin

Private
Belligerents
Aug 28, 2014
florida
Wouldn't the .002 shell holder set the case shoulder back less than the .004?

In other words, would you not be better off using the .002 before the .004? ( Forgive me if I misunderstand their function.)