300 PRC in a 24" 1:9 barrel? Disadvantages? Advantages?

TheLionHearted

Private
Belligerents
Oct 14, 2017
Hi all,

I was thinking getting a 24" barrel in 300 PRC with a 1:9 twist. I'm relatively new at shooting bolt actions at long range but will I be losing much with having a 24" barrel?

Also, is 1:9 okay?

Thanks!

catalyst81

Private
Belligerents
May 6, 2012
Utah
What's the purpose of the rifle? Any particular reason you are set on 24"? Just curious. I'm planning on a 26" 1:9 twist target rifle. The thread posted above is long, but there's a lot of great info in it.

TheLionHearted

Private
Belligerents
Oct 14, 2017
What's the purpose of the rifle? Any particular reason you are set on 24"? Just curious. I'm planning on a 26" 1:9 twist target rifle. The thread posted above is long, but there's a lot of great info in it.
Thanks for your reply! The purpose will be both hunting and target shooting.

The rifle will be a Bighorn Origin. I don’t want a heavy rifle that is cumbersome but also want to take it out as far as I can. 24” just seems like the longest length I would be prepared to take it. The only other bolt action I’ve had was a 20” barrel so an extra 6” seems like a lot.

I’m wanting to have it in a more traditional looking aluminum bedded HS Precision type stock for now and when I can afford something more like a Cadex chassis I will buy one and use that chassis for more bench rest type shooting.

b6graham

MMPRL
Belligerents
Jul 29, 2014
if i wasnt carrying it hunting i'd be doing like a 28"-30"

hunting with a proof or 3b, 24" would be more approproate

2Barrels

Private
Belligerents
Mar 7, 2017
You should be fine with a 9T. If you read thru the 30 plus pages of the linked thread, I think you fine comments from Frank Green @ Bartlein regarding the 300PRC/9T combo - all positive.